Subscribe to Upset
Get Upset delivered direct to your door anywhere on the planet, every month. Get more info here.
In the mag...
Featuring SWMRS, Simple Creatures, Grandson and more.
Order a copy
April 2019

Hellions’ new album ‘Rue’ will arrive in October

Check out their new single, 'Smile'.
Published: 10:14 am, August 07, 2018Words: Sam Taylor.
Hellions’ new album ‘Rue’ will arrive in October

Hellions have announced their new album - ‘Rue’ will be released on 19th October via UNFD. The follow-up to ‘Opera Oblivia’, it’s preceded by the singles 'X (Mwah)’, 'Furrow' and now ‘Smile’ too.

Anthony Caruso (drummer/co-writer) and Matt Gravolin (guitar/vocals/cowriter) say of the track: “The world as we know it wants to be entertained interminably, and now our entertainment often comes at the expense of our compassion. We’ve all found ourselves speaking in blue, snide language about trivial matters that aren’t of any real consequence to us, asserting invalid opinions for the sake of having our voices heard.

"Cheap stimulation is addictive and judgemental thinking can take over involuntarily when so much of our mental space is surrendered to it. We seem to be stuck here despite knowing that this thinking and behaviour isn’t conducive to any lasting happiness.”

“How can we overcome our struggles with one another if we don’t fully understand the one raging inside ourselves? It’s this very question Hellions explore on Rue and there’s never been a better time for an album that explores this tussling duality the band describe as “the co-existence of a Jekyll and Hyde operating within a person at any one time.”

The full track listing reads:

1. (Blueberry)
2. Odyssey
3. X (Mwah)
4. Smile
5. Furrow
6. (Cocoon)
7. Rue
8. (Theatre Of) (feat. Luna)
9. The Lotus
10. Get Up!
11. Harsh Light
12. 26


© 2018 The Bunker Publishing