Subscribe to Upset
Get Upset delivered direct to your door anywhere on the planet, every month. Get more info here.
In the mag...
Featuring All Time Low, Code Orange, Bury Tomorrow and more.
Order a copy
April 2020
HMAs 2020

The Heavy Music Awards have moved to September

They were originally planned for May, but have moved to avoid the COVID-19 outbreak.
Published: 8:00 am, March 24, 2020
The Heavy Music Awards have moved to September

The Heavy Music Awards have moved to 3rd September.

The ceremony was originally due to take place at London's O2 Kentish Town Forum on Thursday 21st May, but it's shifted back due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

An official statement reads: "Following current official government advice requesting people to avoid non-essential travel and non-essential social contact - Heavy Group have taken the decision to temporarily postpone The Heavy Music Awards 2020 until Thursday 03 September 2020 at London O2 Forum Kentish Town. The safety of the fans, artists, partners and dedicated crew who make it all possible will always be our primary concern. 

"The voting window has been extended until Friday 5 June, all votes and ticket lottery entries already cast will remain valid. We look forward to celebrating the power of music and the entire landscape of talent across the rock community, in the inclusive environment that The Heavy Music Awards is proud to be a part of."

Leading this year's nominees are Bring Me The Horizon, Slipknot and Rammstein, garnering four nominations each. Other names with nods include the likes of Frank Carter & the Rattlesnakes, Fever 333, Poppy, Enter Shikari, Architects, Employed To Serve, BABYMETAL and more.

You can vote in this year's Heavy Music Awards here.

The complete list of nominees reads:

Best Album presented by Amazon Music

Babymetal - Metal Galaxy (Produced by Kobametal)
Bring Me The Horizon - amo (Produced by Oliver Sykes & Jordan Fish)
Dinosaur Pile-Up - Celebrity Mansions (Produced by Larry Hibbitt)
Sleep Token - Sundowning (Produced by George Lever)
Slipknot - We Are Not Your Kind (Produced by Greg Fidelman)
Tool - Fear Inoculum (Produced by Joe Barresi)
While She Sleeps - So What? (Produced by Carl Bown)

Best UK Band

Bring Me The Horizon
Bury Tomorrow
Employed to Serve
Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes
Venom Prison
While She Sleeps

Best International Band presented by eOne

Fever 333
The Interrupters
Parkway Drive
Stray From The Path

Best Live Band presented by O2 Forum Kentish Town

Amon Amarth
Fever 333
Parkway Drive

Best UK Breakthrough Band presented by Primordial Radio

Cold Years
Higher Power
Hot Milk
Lotus Eater
Nova Twins

Best International Breakthrough Band

The Hu
Jesus Piece
Simple Creatures
Stand Atlantic

Best Album Artwork

Baroness - Gold & Grey by John Dyer Baizley
Blood Incantation - Hidden History Of The Human Race by Bruce Pennington
Bring Me The Horizon - amo by Darren Oorloff
Cattle Decapitation - Death Atlas by Wes Benscoter
Korn - The Nothing by Tension Division
Rammstein - Rammstein by Jes Larson
Venom Prison - Samsara by Eliran Kantor

Best Video

Bring Me The Horizon - In The Dark (Directed by Oliver Sykes)
Creeper - Born Cold (Directed by Oscar Sansom)
Don Broco - Action (Directed by Benjamin Roberds)
Enter Shikari - Stop the Clocks (Directed by Polygon)
Poppy ft. Fever 333 - Scary Mask (Directed by Titanic Sinclair)
Rammstein - Deutschland (Directed by Specter Berlin)
Slipknot - Unsainted (Directed by Shawn Crahan)

Best Festival presented by Ticketmaster

2000 Trees
Bloodstock Open Air
Download Festival
Hellfest Open Air
Slam Dunk Festival

Best Photographer

Sarah Louise Bennett
Corinne Cumming
Paul Harries
Jennifer McCord
Jake Owens
Sabrina Ramdoyal
Ester Segarra

Best Producer

Carl Bown
Romesh Dodangoda
Greg Fidelman
Adam 'Nolly' Getgood
Larry Hibbitt
George Lever
Catherine Marks


© 2018 The Bunker Publishing