Skip links

Sonic Boom Six – The F-Bomb

Sonic Boom Six – The F-Bomb


Sonic Boom Six – The F-Bomb

Quintessential Boom. A step up.

Label: Cherry Red Records
Released: 27th May 2016

Rating: ★★★★

‘The F-Bomb’ is an album Sonic Boom Six fans have been anticipating for years, ever since their self-titled back in 2012. Originally titled ‘Operation Boombox’, it was in the pipeline for quite a while as a result of drummer Neil McMinn leaving the band.

With the current line-up – Barney Boom, Laila K, Nick Horne, James Routh and new addition Luke Hesketh – ‘The F-Bomb’ is everything you could want from a band who have been around for as long as these guys have. It’s quintessential Boom, and a step up from the aggressive politics that dominated their previous material.

Their fifth studio album, it’s also more inspiring, radiating positive vibes. The theme is one of empowerment. Feminist issues are at the forefront of the band’s minds, as seen with lead single ‘No Man, No Right’.

‘The F-Bomb’ has moved SB6 from punk territory, to wholehearted ska, reggae and dub, with dabbles of disco too. Good vibes all round are what the made in Manchester quintet bring to the table with this zealous release. Jasleen Dhindsa

Return to top of page