Disrupt The Noise Subscribe from £25 per year

The National’s new Grateful Dead tribute compilation to feature Fucked Up and more

In a new interview, the National have discussed their long-awaited Grateful Dead covers album, which is expected to be released early next year.

Artists set to feature on the release include the War on Drugs, the Walkmen, Kurt Vile and J Mascis, Tunde Adebimpe, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Perfume Genius and Fucked Up.

“It’s going to be a thousand-dollar box set the size of a coffee table,” the band’s Bryan Devendorf jokes, to Stereogum.

“I think the stuff we did is very consistent musically,” adds Scott Devendorf, “leaning more towards the originals. And then some of the covers are really out there and totally different.”

“It’s almost like, for some of these songs, making an album in itself,” continues Aaron. “But it’s fun — [the Dead] made some good studio records but it wasn’t their thing.

“So, to actually shine a light on these things, and to do it with a lot of care and to see how excited all these musicians are… literally, there’s everyone. I mean, you’d be shocked at all the people.”

How cool would it be to have a new magazine turn up on your doorstep every month, packed full of your favourite bands, without even having to leave the house? Subscribe to Upset for as little as £25 a year and have each print issue delivered direct to you on release. Click here for more info.