Disrupt The Noise Subscribe from £25 per year

Courtney Barnett and Royal Headache receive Australian Music Prize nominations

Courtney Barnett and Royal Headache are two of the bands nominated for this year’s Australian Music Prize.

The award is intended to determine the best record produced by an Australian artist over the past twelve months, and also sees Tame Impala receiving a nod.

The winner of the 11th award will be announced on 9th March, and will receive a prize of $30,000 (AUD).

Normally nine albums are nominated, but in an especially strong year for Aussie musicians, this year they’ve added an extra spot.

Chairman of the judging panel Dave Faulkner said: “No list of 10 albums could ever capture the diversity of music that was produced in the country over the last year and many great albums only narrowly missed making the shortlist, breaking some AMP judges’ hearts in the process, however these were the 10 albums that the 16 judges agreed were the best of the year.”

The nominated albums read:

Courtney Barnett – ‘Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit’
Dan Kelly – ‘Leisure Panic’
Dick Diver – ‘Melbourne, Florida’
Gold Class – ‘It’s You’
Jess Ribeiro – ‘Kill It Yourself’
Methyl Ethel – ‘Oh Inhuman Spectacle’
My Disco – ‘Severe’
Royal Headache – ‘High’
Sarah Blasko – ‘Eternal Return’
Tame Impala – ‘Currents’

How cool would it be to have a new magazine turn up on your doorstep every month, packed full of your favourite bands, without even having to leave the house? Subscribe to Upset for as little as £25 a year and have each print issue delivered direct to you on release. Click here for more info.