Disrupt The Noise Subscribe from £25 per year

Brand New’s leaked demo tapes come with a thank you note to fans

Brand New’s new tape release – featuring a bunch of infamous leaked demos from nearly a decade ago – has started arriving with fans, and it includes a thank you letter from frontman Jesse Lacey and the band.

It reads:

“In 2006, these 9 songs were part of a larger group of songs that we were working on for our third album, the one that later that year would become ‘The Devil and God are Raging Inside Me’. When they leaked onto the internet we felt that their worth as potential album pieces was compromised, so we abandoned many of them.

“Our fans, however, would not let them die so easily. So this tape is a thank you to all of you who ever heard these songs and came to care about them in the same way we always have.”

There’s also a note that says simply, “We still do not know how this music found it’s way on to the internet.”

The track listing is as follows:

1. Good Man
2. 1996
3. Brother’s Song
4. Missing You
5. Nobody Moves
6. Luca
7. Fork and Knife
8. Yeah (Sowing Season)
9. Battalions

How cool would it be to have a new magazine turn up on your doorstep every month, packed full of your favourite bands, without even having to leave the house? Subscribe to Upset for as little as £25 a year and have each print issue delivered direct to you on release. Click here for more info.