Disrupt The Noise Subscribe from £25 per year

Yuck announce new album ‘Stranger Things’

Yuck are set to release their third album ‘Stranger Things‘ on February 26th, which is very exciting. Check out new cut ‘Hearts In Motion‘ below.

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/241432708″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

The followup to 2013’s ‘Glow and Behold‘ is up for preorder now and deals with the fears and uncertanties of the past few years. “It felt important with this record to deal with a bunch of that stuff, clear out the past, and make a fresh go of things,” explains guitarist/vocalist Max Bloom.

“The band feels better now than it ever has,” he continues. “We recorded the drums in a rehearsal studio by our house, which we’ve rehearsed at for ages. Everything else was done at my parent’s house, in the same room we recorded the first record which wasn’t an intentional thing. It’s just the only quiet space that we have access to in London! Mostly I wanted to make the album in a space that I was comfortable in. I wanted no one else involved–just me and Ed and Mariko and Johnny—and to just do it in a way that suited us and not have other people there messing with our vision or whatever. I just wanted to get on with it and make something that was truly us and not affected by any outside influences. We basically spent no money on the record and it was a really relaxed way of doing things. I really, really like it. I’m more proud of it than anything we’ve ever done.”

“I think all records have stress because shit just happens -you lose files, guitar pedals break, stuff like that- and that’s normal. Still, there was a hell of a lot more stress on the second album than there should have been. This time, I wanted it to be fun. I wanted it to be really simple and really fun to play. If a record is not fun, if the songs are not fun for the band, it shortens the time that it takes for it to get stale. I didn’t want to stray too far at all from guitar, bass, drums, and vocals because that’s the format that I fell in love with as a music fan. All my favorite bands keep to those limitations and work within those guidelines. I think it’s what we’re best at.”

“It’s difficult to have any expectations because I’m quite a negative person, so I try not to,” continues Max. “But this record is all us, it is everything that we owned and everything that we had. It was just a record that was made completely on our terms. I guess that’s why I’m comfortable with the idea of people liking it or even not liking it. If people don’t like it, then it means they just don’t like the band and I can’t force people to like the band. All we can do is make songs that we love…and we’ve done that.“

Yuck are heading out on tour to celebrate the release. Kicking things off in London’s Moth Club before heading to the US, the full list of dates is as follows.

26 Moth Club, London
27 Moth Club, London

11 Savannah Stopover, Savannah GA
12 Aisle 5, Atlanta GA
13 Spanish Moon, Baton Rouge LA
14-18 SXSW, Austin TX
19 Spillover Festival, Dallas TX
21 Crescent Ballroom, Phoenix AZ
23 Soda Bar, San Diego CA
24 The Echo, Los Angeles CA
25 Cellar Door, Visalia CA
26 Great American Music Hall, San Francisco CA
28 Mississippi Studios, Portland OR
29 Fortune Sound Club, Vancouver BC
30 The Crocodile, Seattle WA
31 Neurolux, Boise ID

02 Larimer Lounge, Denver CO
04 7th St. Entry, Minneapolis MN
05 High Noon Saloon, Madison WI
06 The Empty Bottle, Chicago IL
07 The Loving Touch, Ferndale MI
08 The Spot, Cleveland OH
09 Silver Dollar Room, Toronto
10 The Haunt, Ithaca NY
11 The Sinclair, Cambridge MA
12 Music Hall of Williamsburg, Brooklyn NY
14 The Space, New Haven CT
15 Rock & Roll Hotel, Washington DC

How cool would it be to have a new magazine turn up on your doorstep every month, packed full of your favourite bands, without even having to leave the house? Subscribe to Upset for as little as £25 a year and have each print issue delivered direct to you on release. Click here for more info.