Disrupt The Noise Subscribe from £25 per year

Refused debut new track ‘Françafrique’

Refused have dropped the second new track of their huge comeback, ‘Françafrique’.

Following last month’s ‘Elektra’, it’s taken from new album ‘Freedom’ – their first in seventeen years. Check out ‘Françafrique’, complete with its kiddy gang vocals and massive groove, below.

“On some of the songs we thought, ‘Can we really do this? Is it too much funk? Too much rock’n’roll?’ It’s enjoyable to balance on that thin edge,” explains bassist Magnus Flagge. “We’re after that element of danger. We could have played it safe and made songs based on hardcore tradition, but none of us were interested in doing that.” Adds vocalist Dennis Lyxzen, “In all honesty, if we’d have had the financial means and the know-how, we would have tried even dumber shit 20 years ago. We went into this record with a very, very open mind and the notion that anything was possible. There was no blueprint for how we wanted it to sound.”

‘Freedom’ is set for release on 29th June via Epitaph Records. Refused will head to the UK to play Reading & Leeds this August.

How cool would it be to have a new magazine turn up on your doorstep every month, packed full of your favourite bands, without even having to leave the house? Subscribe to Upset for as little as £25 a year and have each print issue delivered direct to you on release. Click here for more info.