Disrupt The Noise Subscribe from £25 per year

Listen to ‘Gardenia’, the first track from Iggy Pop’s album with Josh Homme

With yesterday’s shock reveal that Iggy Pop has recorded an album with Josh Homme, Matt Helders and Dean Fertita still ringing in ears, the band have dropped the first track from the upcoming release.

Gardenia‘, taken from ‘Post Pop Depression‘, is streaming below. Enjoy.

‘Post Pop Depression’ (out March 18th) was borne out of Iggy Pop still having something to say. “I was feeling challenged at this point in my life to prove my value as a musical artist, not as a symbol of anything,” he explains in an interview with the NY Times with Josh Homme venturing that Iggy Pop “is the last one of the one-of-a-kinds. This is a much deserved victory lap for a man who’s not sure if he won. But he did. He may have tunneled underground for lots of that, but he still got to the destination.”

The band have also revealed the tracklist and artwork for the record, which is as follows.

1.Break Into Your Heart
2. Gardenia
3. American Valhalla
4. In The Lobby
5. Sunday
6. Vulture
7. German Days
8. Chocolate Drops
9. Paraguay

Iggy Pop

The band is looking to undertake a small tour to celebrate the album’s release with Josh noting, “There won’t be hardly any shows, and they won’t be in big places, and you won’t be able to get a ticket. So almost everyone won’t see it. It will be like trying to catch smoke in your hands. And that makes it even better. It will be special, and it will be over in the blink of an eye.”

The band made their live debut on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert last night, performing ‘Gardenia’ which you can watch below.

How cool would it be to have a new magazine turn up on your doorstep every month, packed full of your favourite bands, without even having to leave the house? Subscribe to Upset for as little as £25 a year and have each print issue delivered direct to you on release. Click here for more info.