Disrupt The Noise Subscribe from £25 per year

Listen to shiny new Sum 41 song ‘Fake My Own Death’

Since it was announced last month, Sum 41 have been keeping the details about their new album ‘13 Voices‘ under wraps.

That is, until now. The first track to be lifted from the record is here and, if it’s an indication of what we can expect from the band’s sixth album, it’s set to be a roaring return to form. Listen to ‘Fake My Own Death‘ below.

““I just wanted to get away from everything that I had been doing. I needed to start a new life—like faking my own death.”

’13 Voices’ is set for release October 7th via Hopeless Records.

“I am really excited to be releasing an album after everything I’ve been through recently. This new music represents the journey I’ve been on throughout the process of making this record,” starts Deryck Whibley. “I had to fall in order to rise, and nothing feels better than to have something you love that you had to really fight for. I can honestly say that 13 Voices saved my life and I cannot wait to share it with all of you.”

Writing for the record started during a four-month hospital stint, with Deryck explaining, “I had to learn how to do everything again-my motor skills, learning how to play guitar again… I couldn’t even walk at the time. It was really difficult, but at the same time if I didn’t have a record to make, I don’t think I would have recovered as quickly. Writing music gave me a purpose. I had to get better.”

sum 41

How cool would it be to have a new magazine turn up on your doorstep every month, packed full of your favourite bands, without even having to leave the house? Subscribe to Upset for as little as £25 a year and have each print issue delivered direct to you on release. Click here for more info.