Disrupt The Noise Subscribe from £25 per year

American Football return with self-titled second album

American Football are back with a new album: they’ll release their self-titled second record on 21st October via Wichita Recordings, seventeen years after their debut.

The band – initially active in the late nineties, before returning a couple of years ago to play live – will play a handful of release shows, including one in London.

“It seems to be the right time to do it,” Mike Kinsella (vocals, guitar) told Upset last year of their return. “A lot of bands who are doing super cool things now, if you trace their lineage, you’re gonna work your way back to American Football.

“Their young fans who are enthusiastic and into stuff, they weren’t there [previously]. Five years ago, I don’t think these people who have been there. So we sort of brought it back at the right time. It was the right time for us personally, too.”

Catch them at:

29 Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre

28 New York, NY @ Terminal 5

11 London, UK @ O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
25 Los Angeles, CA @ The Ace Hotel Theatre

Check out first single ‘I’ve Been So Lost For So Long’ here; and pre-order the album at americanfootballmusic.com.

The track listing for ‘American Football’ is as follows:

1. Where Are We Now?
2. My Instincts Are the Enemy
3. Home Is Where the Haunt Is
4. Born to Lose
5. I’ve Been So Lost for So Long
6. Give Me the Gun
7. I Need a Drink (or Two or Three)
8. Desire Gets in the Way
9. Everyone Is Dressed Up

How cool would it be to have a new magazine turn up on your doorstep every month, packed full of your favourite bands, without even having to leave the house? Subscribe to Upset for as little as £25 a year and have each print issue delivered direct to you on release. Click here for more info.